Information Technology

4 & 5
Awarding Body
Delivery Mode
On Campus, Online
School of Information Technology
12 Months

The objective of the OTHM Level 4 & 5 Diploma in Information Technology is to provide learners with an excellent foundation for a career in a range of organisations. It is designed to ensure that each learner is ‘business ready’: a confident, independent thinker with a detailed knowledge of Information Technology, and equipped with the skills to adapt rapidly to change.

The qualification is ideal for those who have started, or are planning to move into, a career in private or public sector business. Successful completion of the Level 4 & 5 Diploma in Information Technology will provide learners with the opportunity to progress to further study or employment.

Intake Class On Place Coordinator
Mar – Jun – Sep – Dec Weekdays – Weekends City Campus – Online Mafaz  +94 774 297 270

Course Structure

The OTHM Level 4 & 5 Diploma in Information Technology consists of 12 mandatory units for a combined total of 240 credits, 2400 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 960 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Unit Title Level Credit
Programming Foundations 4 20
Systems Analysis and Design 4 20
Web and Multimedia Applications 4 20
Computer and Network Technology 4 20
Software Development 4 20
Managing Business Information 4 20
Software Engineering 5 20
Database Systems 5 20
Advanced Systems Analysis and Design 5 20
Management Information Systems 5 20
Network Information Systems 5 20
IT Project Management 5 20


Entry Requirements

For entry onto the OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology qualification, learners must possess:

  • Relevant NQF/QCF/RQF Level 3 Diploma or equivalent
  • Learner must be 18 years or older at the beginning of the course
  • English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country must provide evidence of English language competency.


All units within this qualification are internally assessed by the centre and externally verified by OTHM. The qualifications are criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the specified learning outcomes.

To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, learners must provide evidence to demonstrate that they have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. Judgement that the learners have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by the Assessor.

The Assessor should provide an audit trail showing how the judgement of the learners’ overall achievement has been arrived at.

University Progression

Successful completion of Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology provides learners the opportunity for a wide range of academic progressions including OTHM Level 5 Diploma in Information Technology. 

Who accepts OTHM Level 4 & 5 in Information Technology?

  • BA (Hons) Business and Computer Studies (top-up) final year at University of Portsmouth (Learning at Work)
  • BSc (Hons) Applied Computing (top-up) final year at University of Portsmouth (Learning at Work)

We Provide our learners in solving  real-life career issues while moulding them to grow in the near future

Live Chat